Starry night‏

Hi,

So today is Saturday morning here in New York and I’ve finally worked out how I can illegally listen to the afl. Would you believe the afl blocks the radio stations broadcasting the games over the web. Worked out a dodgy way of getting around this. Thought it was delayed but it seems to be live. Managing to catch the last half of the Essendon vs Bulldogs game.

So I missed out on Obama on Thursday. Just couldn’t fit a meeting with him into my schedule.  Instead I had a very arty day.

My first attempt at the subway wasn’t exactly a success. Accidentally found myself on an express train heading to Harlem and the Bronx. Didn’t work that out until it went zooming past all my stops. I think I’ve got things under control now. If I don’t want the express trains I need to catch the one that says “local”.

Eventually I found my way to the Frick Collection and then MoMA – Museum of Modern Art. I had also planned to go to St Patricks cathedral, which I did manage, but there was a huge funeral the in the morning (an ex New York mayor), so I had to do that in the afternoon.

Back to the art. The Frick Collection was probably more my thing. Some of the MoMA collection I loved, but some pieces I just couldn’t get.

There was one piece you would have loved Dad. It was called “Thread”. Basically it was a pile of hay bales – 48 to be exact, with a gold thread around it. Once I let go of my practical side which questioned why this was art, I really liked the piece.

Another favourite was a piece that contained all these empty containers. Here’s a picture: http://www.moma.org/visit/calendar/exhibitions/1145

And there was another Dad I think you could have created. Basically it was bits of wall. The piece is called Bingo http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=91762

The pieces I didn’t get were a pink plank, a blank canvas with a border, and another canvas with a grid of it. Sorry but my practical side wouldn’t let me get these pieces.

Other favourites:
Frick Collection
– Boucher – The Four Seasons
– Holbein – Thomas Moore
– Renoir – Mother and Children
– Vermeer – Officer and laughing girl

MoMA
– Thread
– Bingo
– Andrea Bowers – Promises Promises
– Boris mikhailov exhibition – amazing photographs
– Gold Marilyn Monroe – Andy Warhol
http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=79737
– Vik Muniz
– Menstruation Machine – Takashi’s Take
– Kardinsky – http://www.moma.org/collection/browse_results.php?object_id=79450
– van Gogh – The Starry night http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=79802
– Monet’s Water Lilies
http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=80220

I finished my visit to MoMA by sitting outside with a glass of wine listening to a South African band that was playing. It was really lovely.

By the time I left it was about 9pm. I had been trying to do Top of the Rock for a couple of days. Top of the Rock is going up to the top of the Rockefeller building and seeing the New York skyline. Leanne had told me to do this at sunset, but I had been having trouble getting there at that time. So I decided would do top of the rock at night and then the Empire State Building during the day. I bought a ticket, but I had to wait for over a hour for my time to go up the building.

So I did what anyone else would do while waiting, I went and bought a ice-cream. This time I tried the cookie dough ice-cream. Imagine this: French vanilla ice-cream, chocolate chips, chocolate fudge, caramel fudge, and then cookie dough mixed in. It was good, but I still think the cake mix ice-cream is winning.

Eventually I got up the top of the building where I had a lovely view of the lights of New York, including the Empire State Building. I was a bit scared of the edge. Really not good with heights, and to think yesterday there was a man who climbed over the edge and threatened to jump. The police got him eventually, but thank God I wasn’t there to see that.

Footy is over. Sounds like Essendon had a win. Going to have a nap before I head out toady. The plan today is to wander around the shops in Chelsea, visit the meatpacking area, central park and the Lincoln centre. I’m going to try and spend most of today outside because the weather is going to turn bad on Sunday and Monday, so I’ll visit museums on those days.

Lots of love
Alison

Leave a Reply

